Tradition of Curiosity

A TRADITION OF CURIOSITY

For the past three decades ensemble KONTRASTE (eK) has been an important fixture in Nuremberg’s cultural landscape.
In our 2020/21 season our basic guiding principles are once again reflected in a delightful combination of the reliable, the unknown, the daring, and the provocative. True to Pierre Boulez: “Culture does not require a sense of false security, but rather, open doors and risk takers. “Though it seems not even Boulez could predict the kind of risk the Coronavirus Pandemic would pose.
Despite everything the pandemic has thus far thrown at us, we won’t give up, we will play on. Each and every extraordinary concert, whether it be in chamber groups or large ensemble, classical or contemporary, alone or collaboratively, is the product of intelligent and methodical planning. Ensemble KONTRASTE events are more than just a concert, they are an experience.

As always, the backbone of eK’s program is the concert series “KONTRASTE – Classic in the Tafelhalle” which presents innovative concepts accross the entire ‘classical’ genre. Our subscribers can also appreciate myriad of other events including staged productions, silent movies with live orchestra, video-productions, children’s concerts in collaboration with the Puppeteers from “Thalias Kompagnons” and last but not least our beloved ‘Poetry and Prose’ events, where music and literature go hand in hand.

In celebration of his 250th anniversary, our program “HIN & WEG” proceeds to place Ludwig van Beethoven in the spotlight. And somewhat unsurprisingly, we plan to celebrate with a program rich in variety and most importantly; contrast! As Beethoven himself said “True art has a will of its own.” We kicked off our 19/20 season in true eK fashion featuring the somewhat unorthodox Beethovian visions from New York-based composer Gene Pritsker, and ended the season with a bang in FEUERGEISTER under the baton of esteemed conductor Jac van Steen, featuring Beethoven’s vibrant Violin Concerto and the epic dramatized adaptation of his musical setting to Goethe’s “Egmont”. In our 2020/21 season we are equally as excited to present highlights including Beethoven’s Sextet and Septet for Winds combined with works from Arnold Schönberg and Hans Zender. And one for the Beethoven purists; in three concerts throughout the course of the season we will present all nine Piano Trios!

Ensemble KONTRASTE prides itself on approaching both the old and new with respectful enthusiasm. Our passion however, to endorse new and contemporary music has led to a number of world premieres through collaborative efforts with composers such as Heinz Winbeck, Martin Smolka, Klaus Ospald, Michael Obst, András Hamary, Leo Dick, Marcus Maria Reißenberger, and Gene Pritsker.

Ensemble KONTRASTE is proud to acknowledge the generosity of our financial supporters, including the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, the German-Czech Fund for the Future, the Bavarian Music Fund, the Bavarian Cultural Fund, the Sparkasse Nuremberg’s ‘Foundations for the Future’, the Fund for Performing Arts, and the German Music Council. Additional funding is provided by the State of Bavaria, the region of Middle Franconia and the City of Nuremberg, who include eK in their yearly budget.

The Ensemble’s success has been readily acknowledged through numerous awards, including the Wolfram-von-Eschenbach Cultural Grant (1999, 2015), the City of Nuremberg Cultural Support Grant (2004), the Friedrich Baur Award from the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts (2007), and the E.ON Bayern AG Cultural Grant (2010)

In addition to its concert series in Nuremberg, eK has also performed in a number of major European cities including Luxemburg (Philharmonie), Vienna (Konzerthaus), Paris (Louvre-Museum), Berlin (Volksbühne), Athens (Concert Hall), and Lisbon (National Theater). Ensemble KONTRASTE has also received invitations to participate at the Vienna Festival, the Schwetzinger Festival, the Chopin-Festival in Warsaw, the Berlinale, the Salzburg Festival, the Schleswig Holstein Music Festival and the Music Festival Nara in Japan.

Our most prominent media partners include the Bayerischer Rundfunk and ZDF/Arte.

Additional information about us is available through our management:

Eckhard Kierski
Hagenhausener Straße 13
90518 Altdorf
+49 9187 2229
+49 172 3832191
eckhardkierski@ensemblekontraste.de

TRADITION DER NEUGIERDE

Das ensemble KONTRASTE (eK) ist seit drei Jahrzehnten wichtiger Impulsgeber und fester Bestandteil der Nürnberger Kulturlandschaft.

Im Jahresprogramm 2020/21 spiegelt sich erneut unsere Devise: die reizvolle Mischung aus Bewährtem, Unbekanntem, Gewagtem und Provozierendem – ganz nach Pierre Boulez: „Kultur braucht keine falsche Sicherheit, sondern offene Türen und ein Risiko.“ Mit solch einem Risiko, wie Corona es mit sich brachte, war allerdings nicht zu rechnen!

Trotz alledem machen wir weiter – wie es unserem programmatischen Namen entspricht: mit intensiven und in jeder Hinsicht außergewöhnlichen Konzerten, sei es mit Kammer- oder Ensemblemusik, klassisch oder zeitgenössisch, allein oder in Verbindung mit Schauspiel, Videokunst, Film, Literatur, Bildender Kunst. Kluge und raffinierte Programmkonzepte machen die Veranstaltungen mit dem eK zum Erlebnis für Musiker und Publikum.

Das Rückgrat des eK-Programms: KONTRASTE – Klassik in der Tafelhalle. Unkonventionell wie der Spielort sind die Konzerte, alle Sparten des klassischen Musikangebots umfassend. Ein großer Abonnentenstamm schätzt auch das übrige Angebot: Bühnen-, (Stumm-)Film- oder Videoproduktionen, das Kinderkonzert  – wobei letzteres der äußerst erfolgreichen Kooperation mit den Figurenkünstlern von „Thalias Kompagnons“ entspringt. Und last not least das florierende Dichtercafé mit seiner Mischung aus Lesung und Musik.

Unter dem Motto „HIN&WEG“ steht zwei Spielzeiten lang Ludwig van Beethoven im Fokus, sein 250. Geburtstag wird auch bei uns gewohnt kontrastreich gefeiert – ganz nach einem Zitat aus Beethovens Konversationsheften: „Wahre Kunst ist eigensinnig.“  Nachdem das Jubiläumsjahr unkonventionell mit den Beethoven-Visionen des New Yorker Komponisten Gene Pritsker begann und mit FEUERGEISTER, einem szenischen Konzert mit Beethovens unvergleichlichem Violinkonzert und seiner Schauspielmusik zu Goethes „Egmont“ endete, werden in der Spielzeit 2020/21 in zwei Konzerten Beethovens Sextett und Septett mit Schönberg und Zender gepaart. Aber auch der „reine“ Beethoven bekommt an drei Abenden seinen gebührenden Platz – mit allen seinen Klaviertrios.

ensemble KONTRASTE begegnet in seiner künstlerischen Arbeit Altem mit Respekt und Neuem ohne Avantgarde-Attitüde. Aus unserer großen Leidenschaft für neue und neueste Musik sind – vielfach in direkter Zusammenarbeit mit den Komponisten – zahlreiche Werke entstanden, u.a. von Heinz Winbeck, Martin Smolka, Klaus Ospald, Michael Obst, András Hamary, Leo Dick, Marcus Maria Reißenberger, Manfred Knaak und Gene Pritsker.

Unterstützung fand das eK u.a. durch die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung, den Deutsch-Tschechischen Zukunftsfonds, den Bayerischen Musikfonds, den Bayerischen Kulturfonds, die Zukunftsstiftung der Sparkasse Nürnberg, den Fonds Darstellender Künste und den Deutschen Musikrat. Neben dem Freistaat Bayern und dem Bezirk Mittelfranken unterstützt die Stadt Nürnberg eK finanziell mit einer eigenen Haushaltsstelle.

Zahlreiche Preise würdigten die Arbeit des Ensembles: Wolfram-von-Eschenbach-Förderpreis (1999), Kultur-Förderpreis der Stadt Nürnberg (2004), Friedrich-Baur-Preis der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste (2007), Kulturpreis der E.ON Bayern AG (2010), Wolfram von Eschenbach Preis (2015).

Über die Nürnberger Konzerttätigkeit hinaus spielt das eK in vielen europäischen Metropolen: Luxemburg (Philharmonie), Wien (Konzerthaus), Paris (Louvre-Museum), Berlin (Volksbühne), Athen (Concerthall), Lissabon (Nationaltheater). Es erhielt Einladungen zu den Wiener Festwochen, den Schwetzinger Festspielen, dem Chopin-Festival Warschau, der Berlinale, den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival, dem Musikfest Nara in Japan und dem Gavroche Festival in Moskau.

 

Wichtigste Medienpartner sind der Bayerische Rundfunk und ZDF/Arte.